Interview: „Kerli for Polish fans”

Published 12 lipca 2011 by KERLI POLAND

Read an awesome interview with Kerli. She asked on questions her Polish fans.


1.       Hi Kerli. How would you describe your music and what means to you?
Kerli: Music means everything to me. I think that the ability to make and listen to music is the best thing about being a human.
I’d call my music BubbleGoth or AngelPop. It’s a little bit ethereal, a little bit moody, a little dancy mixed with the sound cartoon characters make and sprinkled with pop and fairy dust.
2.       How long do you sing? 

I’ve been singing since I remember myself. I started going to singing competitions with my kindergarten music teacher when I was 5. Then my grandfather who is a musician and a composer became my singing teacher and by the time I was fourteen, I knew that I wanted to make music for a living so I stopped having any other hobbies and really started concentrating on singing.

3.       When you were a child were you singing in choir or something like that?

No. I never wanted to be in a choir cause you have to sing really quiet and blend in and singing like this to me is so boring.  Also the lady that ran the choir was my music teacher and every time I would sing in a music class, she would look at me and ask:” Who’s screaming with this ugly and loud voice?” Hahaha:) So even if I wanted to be in a choir, she wouldn’t have let me.

4.       Your old songs was saying about being self. All of them makes people feels valuable. Will you go this way in the future? Makes people feel like that.

I am always trying to send a positive message to people. On my first album it was about getting in touch with who you are and not being scared of being fragile. On this new album, I’m coming out of that space because I’m a lot happier now and I hope all my MoonChildren are as well. What I’m hoping for is that with this album we can celebrate life and build an army of love and kinda create a Heaven on Earth for ourselves and this community.

5.       Are you listening music in other languages besides English ? What kind of music is your favorite?

I love Sigur Ros. They’re from Iceland and they don’t even sing in a language – they just made up their own. So did Cocteau twins. I love these bands that make up their own language.

6.       Witch who artist would you like to collaborate?

I’d love to work with The Prodigy and Emilie Autumn

7.      Your fans really often are asking about your collaboration with Tokio Hotel. Tell us something more about this collaboration.

It was fun. They had this song which they were looking a female vocal for so they hit me up. I recorded it in Los Angeles and next time they were in town, we went out to dinner and to some club. They are cool guys.

8.       You and Lady Gaga both are looking pretty similar. Some people are talking that she steals your style-ideas. Do you think that’s true? What do you think about this compare between you and Lady Gaga?

I don’t care. Let’s all just make great music.

9.       What were impressions after your first concert?

I played my first show so long ago, I don’t really remember what it felt like.

10.   How did you get the inspiration for your really interesting appearance and style?

My style is always changing so whatever I’m into at that moment will influence my style. I love Japanese street fashion, love Lolita, love gothic, cyber stuff. Also I love angels and fairies and magical creatures so sometimes you can see ethereal elements in the way I look.

11.   How are you dyeing your hair on blue colour? Do you use blue hair-dye?

I always do my hair myself, just in my bathroom. 

12.   Who, besides today’s career, would you like to be?

Interior designer, shrink, event planner.

13.   In countries like Poland it’s not always easy to express yourself and your individual style, some people are not very open-minded for it. Could you give some kind of advice for polish Moonchildren who don’t want to give up themselves but still are a little afraid to show themselves to the world?

I just always like to think that I’m in a movie and the world is not real so I can just have fun and none of it really matters. Why not make your movie all cool! Right?

14.   How did you make I-Loo?

I think my mom got me the bear and I got this little gas mask from Hollywood blvd which I decked out for my army of love video. Then MoonChildren saw it and said it should be our mascot. So we named it and everything and now we all love I-Loo so much:)

15.   How did you make your song ‚Army Of Love’?

It kinda happened. I was in the studio one day and told he producer I was working with on it that I really need to write a song called army of love. Next time I got back, he had the track and he had this hook idea so we finished writing it. It actually took a long time to polish but we knew it was special.

16.   Why ‚Killerwave’ wasn’t on album ‚Love is Dead’? Will it be on your next album?

Sometimes songs just don’t make it on the album..I always write like a hundred or more for an album and then we pick the ones that everyone loves. It’s a process.

It will not be on my next album but there will be a lot of great songs on the new album that I think MoonChildren are gonna really love the same way they loved the first album.
17.   If you do promotional tour to your next album will you come to Poland?

I will try:)

18.   Do you like Poland?

Yes! I really like Poland. I’ve driven through a couple times on my way to Germany and I think it’s a strange country. I love Strange!:) I love that everyone had these religious statues in their gardens. It looks so inspiring. I also had some really yummy food there. Can’t wait to meet all my Polish MoonChildren.

19.   Do you have any contact with your fans from Poland?

Yes. I have some  amazing Polish fans that I see all the time.

20.   What is your favorite color?

White is always my favorite but I also love some other colors that change. Right now I love mint green too. And baby pink.

21.   If you had to be a rodent which one would you like to be?

A rat:

„If you are dirty, insignificant and unloved, then rats are the ultimate role model.  They exist without permission. They are hated, hunted, and persecuted. They live in quiet desperation amongst the filth.  And yet they are capable of brining entire civilizations to their knees.”  -Banksy

22.   Did your childhood be happy?

There were happy moments, there were sad moments. It wasn’t a traditionally happy childhood but it made me who I am so I’ve made peace with it.

23.   Do you like ice-cream? If yes which flavour the most?

I’m allergic to milk products but I love ice cream and sometimes I just have one although I shouldn’t. My favorite flavors and licorice and mint-chocolate chip.

24. KerliPoland: Thank you very much for interview. And do you have a message for your Polish fans?

Thank you.

My message would be:
LOVE IS THE ONLY THING THAT MATTERS.
Integrity, love and unity.
Polish Version: Here

2 comments on “Interview: „Kerli for Polish fans”

  • Dodaj komentarz